4 Hogs Voted First-Team Preseason All-SEC

FAYETTEVILLE – Arkansas Razorbacks catcher Casey Opitz, second baseman Robert Moore, center fielder Christian Franklin and designated hitter/first baseman Matt Goodheart were voted first-team Preseason All-SEC by the SEC’s head baseball coaches, it was announced Thursday by the SEC Office in Birmingham, Ala.

Coach Dave Van Horn’s All-SEC quartet comprised the most first-teamers selected from one team. The 14 coaches, forbidden to vote for their own players or team, picked Ole Miss, seven first place votes and 78 voting points, to win the SEC West. Arkansas, two first-place votes, and 72 points,  was picked third in the West just behind second-place Mississippi State, 73 points and three first-place votes, and ahead of fourth-place LSU, 63 points and two first-place votes. Texas A&M, 36 points, Auburn, 32, and Alabama, 31 complete the SEC West.

Florida not only was the overwhelming favorite to win the SEC East, 13 first-place votes and 91 points, but amassed 12 of the 14 first-place votes to win the SEC Overall Championship. Mississippi State, one vote, and Vanderbilt, one vote, received the other Overall first-place votes. Vanderbilt, one first-place vote, and 79 points, was voted second in the SEC East.

Completing East third through seventh are: Tennessee  58; South Carolina ,55; Georgia, 51; Missouri, 28; and Kentucky, 23.

2021 SEC Baseball Coaches Preseason PollEastern Division

1. Florida (13) – 91
2. Vanderbilt (1) – 79
3. Tennessee – 58
4. South Carolina – 55
5. Georgia – 51
6. Missouri – 28
7. Kentucky – 23

Western Division
1. Ole Miss (7) – 78
2. Mississippi State (3) – 73
3. Arkansas (2) – 72
4. LSU (2) – 63
5. Texas A&M – 36
6. Auburn – 32
7. Alabama – 31
() – First place votes

SEC Champion: 
Florida (12), Mississippi State (1), Vanderbilt (1)

2021 SEC Baseball Coaches Preseason All-SEC TeamFirst Team
C: Casey Opitz, Arkansas
1B: T.J. Collett, Kentucky
2B: Robert Moore, Arkansas
3B: Rankin Woley, Auburn
SS: Ryan Bliss, Auburn
OF: Jud Fabian, Florida
OF: Christian Franklin, Arkansas
OF: Tanner Allen, Mississippi State
DH/UTL: Matt Goodheart, Arkansas
SP: Kumar Rocker, Vanderbilt
SP: Connor Prielipp, Alabama
RP: Devin Fontenot, LSU

Second Team
C: Hayden Dunhurst, Ole Miss
1B: Josh Hatcher, Mississippi State
2B: Max Ferguson, Tennessee
3B: Tim Elko, Ole Miss
SS: Josh Rivera, Florida
OF: Rowdey Jordan, Mississippi State
OF: Owen Diodati, Alabama
OF: Cade Beloso, LSU
DH/UTL: Wes Clarke, South Carolina
SP: Jack Leiter, Vanderbilt
SP: Tommy Mace, Florida
RP: Ben Specht, Florida

Back to top button