Mon September 25, 2023

By Press Release

Politics State

Cotton, Shaheen Laud Unanimous Senate Passage of National Warrior Call Day

Tom Cotton National Warrior Call Day Jeanne Shaheen
Cotton, Shaheen Laud Unanimous Senate Passage of National Warrior Call Day
Washington, D.C. — Senator Tom Cotton (R-Arkansas) and Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-New Hampshire) announced their resolution to designate November 12, 2023, as “National Warrior Call Day” passed the Senate unanimously.


The lawmakers want to emphasize forming meaningful relationships with both those currently serving and veterans. Such relationships can help fight against mental illness and the epidemic of suicide among military members.


“Americans can never fully pay back those who serve in defense of America. We can, however, make sure that active military members and veterans have access to the support they need after serving to lead active and healthy lives. This bipartisan resolution will raise awareness on the importance of building relationships with those who defend our freedom,” said Senator Cotton.

“Those who have taken the oath to defend our country deserve our appreciation and support long after their service ends. I’m glad the Senate passed my bipartisan resolution that, if signed into law, would designate a National Warrior Call Day to help raise awareness and strengthen the relationship between veterans and civilians,” said Senator Shaheen.  

Text of the resolution may be found here.

Cosponsors of the legislation were Senators John Boozman (R-Arkansas), Bob Casey (D-Pennsylvania), Elizabeth Warren (D-Massachusetts), Peter Welch (D-Vermont), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minnesota), John Thune (R-South Dakota), Mark Kelly (D-Arizona), John Hickenlooper (D-Colorado), John Fetterman (D-Pennsylvania), John Tester (D-Montana), Jackie Rosen (D-Nevada), James Risch (R-Idaho), John Hoeven (R-North Dakota), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Mississippi), Rick Scott (R-Florida), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Shelley Moore Capito (R-West Virginia), Eric Schmitt (R-Missouri), Kevin Cramer (R-North Dakota), Richard Blumenthal (D-Connecticut), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-Rhode Island), Senator Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Marco Rubio (R-Florida), Michael Bennet (D-Colorado), Angus King (I-Maine), Raphael Warnock (D-Georgia), Joe Manchin (D-West Virginia), Tim Kaine (D-Virginia), Pete Ricketts (R-Nebraska), Bill Cassidy (R-Louisiana), Mark Warner (D-Virginia), Chris Van Hollen (D-Maryland), Jon Ossoff (D-Georgia) and Ed Markey (D-Massachusetts).