Wed March 17, 2021

By Shelly B Short

Hall of Fame Class Presented

Ken McLemore

HOPE – Six former Hope Public Schools educators were inducted into the Hope Public Schools Educator Hall of Fame in a video presentation which became available on social media March 17.

Induction ceremonies were conducted digitally this year to comply with COVID-19 protocols, and the video presentation may be accessed at on YouTube online, via the YouTube link as published on the HPS website under News or on the HPS Facebook page online.

The new inductees have almost two centuries of public education service among them, all six having begun their careers as classroom teachers. Five of the six honorees have served as administrators at the campus or district level and two have been groundbreaking counselors.

All six inductees have earned at least one advanced degree and/or administrative certification, while one has been mayor of Hope, one has been superintendent of schools in Hope, one was an ordained minister, and one has served on the Hope Public Schools Board.

Four of the six are Hope natives and three of the honorees have coached athletics teams.

The inductees of the Class of 2020-2021 include Junanne Brown, Rose Davis, Kennth Muldrew, Bobby Whitmarsh, Rev. Dr. W. G. Wynn, and Floyd Young.

Nominations were solicited from the community, from professional education organizations and from education-related organizations of former HPSD educators with at least 10 years of active service as an HPSD educator, administrator or support professional, inclusive of posthumous nominations.

The six honorees comprise the third class of the HPSD Educator Hall of Fame since the inaugural class was selected during the Hempstead County Bicentennial year in 2018.

Nominations to the 2021-2022 class will be accepted by mail to Dr. Bobby Hart, Superintendent, Hope Public Schools, 117 E. Second St., Hope, Ar., 71801, or at [email protected] online.