Wed June 05, 2024

By Lance Hawley

José Marin Tabbed Golfweek All-American
Kylie Magar

FAYETTEVILLE – Maria José Marin has been named a Golfweek All-American, as announced by the publication on Tuesday. She was named to the All-America Second Team after earning first team honors by the Women’s Golf Coaches Association two weeks ago. The freshman’s honor is the 15th time a Razorback has been named on a Golfweek All-America Team, becoming the first second team selection and eighth to a first, second or third team.


José Marin is coming off a fantastic collegiate debut season, being tabbed a WGCA First Team All-American and SEC Freshman of the Year and earned All-SEC First Team and All-Freshman Team honors. She tied for fourth at the NCAA Championship with a 5-under 283 (72-67-71-72) and was one of five tabbed to the DI WGCA All-Freshman Team. The Cali, Colombia product finished as the No. 6 ranked player, according to the Scoreboard by Clippd rankings and sat within the top six all season long. José Marin is currently No. 17 in the World Amateur Golf Ranking.


As a freshman, José Marin led the team in scoring average (70.83), adjusted scoring average (68.8), rounds at par or better (23) and rounds in the 60s (8). She logged four top five finishes and five top 10 showings, including a tie for fourth at the NCAA Championship. José Marin won the Blessings Collegiate Invitational and logged two runner-up showings at the Carmel Cup and MountainVIew Collegiate. At the Carmel Cup, she tied an Arkansas freshman 54-hole record with an 11-under 205 (67-70-68).


Past Razorback Golfweek All-Americans

Stacy Lewis – First Team (2006-07, 2007-08), Third Team (2005-06)

Amanda McCurdy – Honorable Mention (2005-06)

Emily Tubert – Third Team (2012-13), Honorable Mention (2013-14)

Gaby Lopez – First Team (2012-13), Honorable Mention (2012-13)

Regina Plasencia – Honorable Mention (2013-14)

Maria Fassi – First Team (2018-19)

Kaylee Benton – Third Team (2018-19)

Brooke Matthews – Honorable Mention (2018-19, 2020-21)

Kajal Mistry – Honorable Mention (2021-22)

Maria Jose Marin – Second Team (2023-24)


First Team

Emma Bunch, New Mexico State

Zoe Campos, UCLA

Adela Cernousek, Texas A&M

Rachel Kuehn, Wake Forest

Ingrid Lindblad, LSU

Paula Martin Sampedro, Stanford

Catherine Park, USC

Julia Lopez Ramirez, Mississippi State

Kiara Romero, Oregon

Lottie Woad, Florida State


Second Team

Kaysa Arwefjall, San Jose State

Anna Davis, Auburn

Maisie Filler, Florida

Megha Ganne, Stanford

Maria Jose Marin, Arkansas

Anna Morgan, Furman

Farah O’Keefe, Texas

Louise Rydqvist, South Carolina

Amanda Sambach, Virginia

Kelly Xu, Stanford


Third Team

Amari Avery, USC

Carla Bernat, Kansas State

Sara Byrne, Miami

Christy Chen, Boston U.

Hannah Darling, South Carolina

Melanie Green, USF

Rachel Heck, Stanford

Caitlyn Macnab, Ole Miss

Annabelle Pancake, Clemson

Megan Schofill, Auburn


Honorable Mention

Carolina Chacarra, Wake Forest

Monet Chun, Michigan

Caterina Don, Georgia

Aine Donegan, LSU

Sadie Englemann, Stanford

Laney Frye, Kentucky

Kary Hollenbaugh, Ohio State

Lauren Kim, Texas

Mackenzie Lee, SMU

Katie Lu, Michigan State

Emma McMyler, Duke

Ashley Menne, Arizona State

Lauren Nguyen, Northwestern

Macy Pate, Wake Forest

Molly Smith, UCF

Latanna Stone, LSU

Mirabel Ting, Florida State

Casey Weidenfeld, Auburn

Jeneath Wong, Pepperdine

Toa Yokoyama, UNLV