Sat August 12, 2023

By Jeff Smithpeters

Watermelon contest winners listed, seed-spitting winners pictured

Seed-spitting overall winner Tyler Atkinson, of Conway, raises his trophy. He stands between the master of ceremonies Dave Phillips and Miss Southwest Arkansas Ryann Grubbs.

Winner of Politically Correct Watermelon Eating Contest: Arkansas Representative Danny Watson

Winners of seed-spitting competitions by age brackets:

Children's Division Winner: Will Sitzes

Jr. Division Winner: Tyler Atkinson

Sr. Division Winner: Aaron Williams

Overall Winner: Tyler Atkinson

Atkinson, who is from Conway, when asked how he accomplished the feat, said, "I spent at least two hours a day practicing so I think that's what got me here. Eat some watermelon before you compete, I would highly suggest."

This was Atkinson's first time competing.