Bucknam, Harrter Honored

Nate Allen

FAYETTEVILLE – As coaches of the SEC Men’s and Women’s 2020 championship cross country teams, Arkansas Razorbacks Men’s Coach Chris Bucknam and Arkansas Razorbacks Women’s Coach Lance Harter were named SEC Cross Country Coaches of the Year, the SEC Office announced Monday in Birmingham, Ala.Bucknam’s Razorbacks by a 35-59 margin defeated runner-up Ole Miss, the 2018 and 2019 SEC champion then  breaking the SEC Cross Country Championship run that Bucknam’s Hogs held from 2010-2017.Harter, Sunday announced as elected to the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame in North Little Rock, coached the Razorbacks to a 41-57 victory over runner-up Alabama in the SEC Cross Country Championship meet run Oct. 31 in Baton Rouge, La.Placing 10th in Baton Rouge as the best freshman finisher, Arkansas’ Taylor Ewert was honored Monday by the SEC Office as the SEC Freshman of the Year.“Her consistency is something that excites us all for the future,” Harter said. “Taylor has a lot of upside in this sport.”

Back to top button