Courtney, Dickinson unopposed for new school board terms

Contributed Content
Two of three incumbent Hope Public Schools Board members subject to re-election in May have filed for new terms of office.
Incumbents subject to re-election who filed for office in the Hempstead County Clerk’s Office include Zone 4 Representative Jimmy Courtney and Zone 6 Representative Kathryn Dickinson. Neither Courtney nor Dickinson were opposed for re-election.
Courtney is an investigative sergeant for the Hope Police Department, and he has served on the board since first elected in 2016.
Dickinson has served on the board since 2017. She was appointed to serve the remaining term of her husband, the late Denver L. “Denny” Dickinson, and is eligible to seek re-election. Dickinson served the HPS for 37 years, beginning as a school secretary at the former Brookwood Elementary School prior to obtaining her teaching degree and licensure. She taught first grade at the former Edith Brown Elementary School and Clinton Primary School for 20 years before becoming assistant principal at CPS for 13 years, until her retirement.
Zone 7 Representative Jesus Coronado did not file for re-election by the close of the filing period at noon Wednesday.
Avis Hamilton of Hope filed for election from Zone 7 without opposition, according to the Hempstead County Clerk’s Office.
Coronado was first elected to the board in September 2009, and he has served as secretary to the board. He completes his current term of service as vice president of the board. Coronado is employed as an investigator for the Hope Police Department.
School board elections in the Hope Public School District will be conducted in conjunction with the statewide May preferential party primary elections this year.

Back to top button