D-Mac Tournament Awards 27 Scholarships

The 9th Annual Debra McMaster Memorial Scholarship Softball Tournament was held last weekend in Hope. Athletes from 39 schools in Arkansas and Texas competed in five different divisions starting Thursday night and ending early Sunday morning. Scholarships were awarded to more than two dozen players from the participating teams.

The Tournament was started 2011 in memory of Debra McMaster who was one of 20 people who died tragically in the Albert Pike flood in 2010. The longevity and growth of the tournament illustrates the impact Debra had on her community. Those who knew and loved her have established a legacy in Debra’s name that continues to grow and touch the lives of young women a decade later.

In its initial year, the tournament was able to award two scholarships. Ten years later, it has grown to the point that 27 young women from the competing teams received scholarships this year in Debra’s name. On Saturday Afternoon, the scholarship ceremony was held on Lady Cat Yard. Sponsors from around the area presented plaques and scholarships to the 27 recipients.

The 39 teams who participated in the 2019 Debra McMaster Memorial Tournament were matched up in five different divisions. The two teams able to make it through the winners’ bracket in each division competed Saturday night for their division’s championship.

Tournament Winners:

Gold Division: Quitman defeated Nashville
Blue Division: Prairiland defeated Paris
Green Division: Guy Perkins defeated Emerson
Red Division: Junction City defeated Batesville
White Division: Concord defeated Malvern

Debra McMaster Memorial Softball Tournament Scholarship Sponsors & Recipients

Greenlee Sheet Metal                                                                      Katie Rivera – Spring Hill

Fulton Grass Farm/Jones Grass Installation                             Macee Lyons – Bradley

South-Ark Electric                                                                            Madisyn Pierce – Bald Knob

Farmers Bank                                                                                     Melissa Little – Dierks

Amigo Juan                                                                                         Keylee Lewis – Spring Hill

Holiday Inn Express/Best Western/Hampton Inn                   Haley Raney – Hermitage

Pafford EMS                                                                                       Lakin Bobo – Spring Hill

Hope Auto Ford                                                                                Sadie Stark – Paris

McDonald’s of Hope                                                                       Lauren Corley – Bismark

Rothwell Marine                                                                               Hannah Fenocchi – Arkadelphia

Carter Family Dentistry/Smiles of AR                                        Atracia Moore – Fordyce

Hope Rotary                                                                                       Rylie Wheeler – Dover

Gator Graphics                                                                                  Abigail Houck – Bloomburg

Farm Credit                                                                                        Braxlie Strother – Acorn

Southern Tire Mart                                                                          Katelyn Langston – Batesville

LTB Timber                                                                                        Ashten Simington – Avery

Hope Baseball/Softball Association                                              Natalie Phillips – Hope

Henley Family                                                                                    Elizabeth White – Concord

Farmers Bank                                                                                     Avery Heinley – Magnet Cove

Georgia-Pacific                                                                                  Kayla Spray – Prairiland

Georgia-Pacific                                                                                  Claire Drewry – South Side Bee Branch

Georgia-Pacific                                                                                  Preslie Morgan – Taylor

York-Gary Autoplex                                                                         Raley Potter – Nashville

York-Gary Autoplex                                                                         Cason Lemons – Nashville

York-Gary Autoplex                                                                         Grace Campbell

York-Gary Autoplex                                                                         Julianne Futrell

Anonymous Sponsor                                                                      Jordan Wylkie – Woodlawn

Back to top button