Diamond Hogs Honored; Kopps Named SEC Pitcher of the Year, Van Horn SEC Coach of the Year

FAYETTEVILLE – The nationally No. 1/SEC baseball champion Arkansas Razorbacks arrive for this week’s SEC Tournament in Hoover, Ala. honored with the SEC Coach of the Year, Pitcher of the Year and seven players named to three All-SEC teams.

On Monday it was announced by the SEC in Hoover that Dave Van Horn, coaching the Razorbacks to a 42-10 overall record and 22-8 SEC record winning the Overall by two games over SEC East champion Tennessee and SEC West runner-up Mississippi State, is the SEC Coach of the Year.

Senior right-hander Kevin Kopps, compiling an astounding 10-0 record with eight save and nationally leading 0.75 earned run average, was named SEC Pitcher of the Year.

Kopps also was named first-team All-SEC as was Razorbacks second-year freshman second baseman Robert Moore and senior designated hitter Matt Goodheart.

Razorbacks junior center fielder Christian Franklin and junior No. 1 starting pitcher Patrick Wicklander were named second-team All-SEC.

Right fielder Cayden Wallace of Greenbrier was named to the All-Freshman team of first-year freshmen since 2020 freshman were granted 2021 freshman eligibility because the covid-19 pandemic cancelled the 2020 campaign.

Moore and second-year freshman pitcher Peyton Pallette of Benton, injured pitching against Florida last weekend, were named to the SEC All-Newcomer team.

Kopps, Franklin and Moore were named to the SEC’s All-Defensive team.

Arkansas opens its double-elimination portion of the SEC Tournament at 4:30 pm. Wednesday on the SEC Network in Hoover against Tuesday’s play-in winner between Georgia and LSU.

Back to top button