Fayetteville Regional All-Tournament team

Photos by Craven Whitlow, CW3SportsAction.

By Nate Allen

FAYETTEVILLE – Isaiah Campbell’s 4-hitter through eight innings of his 3-1 winner’s bracket final triumph over TCU earned the Arkansas Razorbacks junior right-handed pitcher the MVP of the Fayetteville Regional as voted upon by media with Arkansas winning the tournament 6-0 over TCU Sunday night at Baum-Walker Stadium.

Campbell was one of seven Razorbacks voted MVP of the 4-team double-elimination tourney which included Central Connecticut State, beaten, 11-5 Friday by Arkansas, and the California Golden Bears consecutively beaten, 13-2 by TCU and 7-4 by Central Connecticut before TCU eliminated Central Connecticut, 9-5 in Sunday’s loser’s bracket final.

Razorbacks announced as voted to the All-Tournament team included catcher Casey Opitz; first baseman Trevor Ezell, second baseman Jack Kenley, right fielder Heston Kjerstad, starting pitchers Campbell and freshman Connor Noland of Greenwood and relief pitcher Matt Cronin.
TCU was represented by designated hitter Hunter Wolfe, center fielder Johnny Rizer, shortstop Adam Oviedo and relief pitcher Jake Eissler.

Central Connecticut State was represented by by third baseman Buddy Dewaine and outfielder Dave Matthews.

The Fayetteville Regional All-Tournament Team as voted on by the media.

Catcher – Casey Opitz (Arkansas)
First Base – Trevor Ezell (Arkansas)
Second Base – Jack Kenley (Arkansas)
Third Base – Buddy Dewaine (CCSU)
Shortstop – Adam Oviedo (TCU)
Outfield – Heston Kjerstad (Arkansas)
Outfield – Johnny Rizer (TCU)
Outfield – Dave Matthews (CCSU)
DH – Hunter Wolfe (TCU)

Starting Pitcher – Isaiah Campbell (Arkansas)
Starting Pitcher – Connor Noland (Arkansas)

Relief Pitcher – Matt Cronin (Arkansas)
Relief Pitcher – Jake Eissler (TCU)

Tournament MVP – Isaiah Campbell (Arkansas)


Back to top button