Hope Public SchoolsSchool News

FFA Rodeo winners named

Ken McLemore

HOPE – The annual Hope High School FFA Rodeo closed its three-night run April 16 at Hope Fair Park Coliseum Arena to bring the oldest student-led high school rodeo in Arkansas to local fans for the 62nd year.

All-Around Cowboy for the 2022 edition of the rodeo was Gavin Smith, who won the senior bull riding, senior bareback riding, chute dogging, and teamed with his brother, Zander Smith, to win the hide ride.

All-Around Cowgirl Maci Kidd won the goat ribbon pull and teamed with Kegan Burke to win the barrel pickup.

FFA Junior Queen for 2022 was Kylee Bruce, Clinton Primary School second grader and daughter of Phoenix and Chris Bruce.

The Earl Downs Memorial Top Hand Award went to Mila Hernandez and FFA Chapter President Oscar Marquez won the Pistol Memorial Award.

“This year’s Hope FFA Rodeo was really a lot of fun to host,” FFA Sponsor Christina Smith-Phillips said. “The FFA students worked so hard and we are really proud of the production.”

The three-night rodeo was conducted entirely by students with the exception of event judging, arena pickup, and announcing duties.

“We had a good turnout of spectators and competitors,” Smith-Phillips said. “We are so grateful for such a supportive community; and we are already excited to prepare for next year’s rodeo.”

Event winners included:

Wild steer tagging (Team) – Jesse Barton, Phoenix Biddle and Sarah Ward.

Bull riding – Gavin Smith.

Bareback riding – Gavin Smith.

Junior bull riding – Zander Smith.

Junior pole bending – Blayklee Glass.

Senior pole bending – Addy Peek.

Goat ribbon pull – Maci Kidd.

Goat tying – Kaegan Burke.

Chute dogging – Gavin Smith.

Junior barrel racing – Blayklee Glass.

Senior barrel racing – Kaegan Burke.

Barrel pickup – Kaegan Burke and Maci Kidd.

Hide ride – Gavin Smith and Zander Smith.

Calf haltering – Kelston Mask.

Mutton busting – (Friday) Westin Hicks; (Saturday) Jeremy Crider.

Back to top button