Governor Hutchinson Appoints Susannah Marshall As Commissioner of Arkansas State Bank Department

LITTLE ROCK – Governor Asa Hutchinson has appointed Susannah Marshall as the next commissioner of the Arkansas State Bank Department.

“Susannah Marshall understands banking and knows Arkansas banks as well as anyone in the state,” Governor Hutchinson said today. “Her promotion to commissioner will provide a seamless transition of leadership as Commissioner Franks retires with the banking department in excellent condition.”

Ms. Marshall has worked for the Arkansas State Bank Department since 1995. She was appointed deputy bank commissioner in 2007. She will replace Commissioner Candace Franks, who will retire October 1 after forty years with the State Bank Department.

“I’m delighted to have Susannah serve as the twenty-second bank commissioner of Arkansas,” Secretary of Commerce Mike Preston said. “She brings twenty-five years of industry knowledge and experience working in various capacities of our bank department. We look forward to her continued leadership and service to the banking industry.”

Before her appointment as deputy bank commissioner, Ms. Marshall was a commercial bank examiner from 1995 to 2003. In 2005, she became a financial analyst and was promoted to financial analyst supervisor. As deputy bank commissioner, Ms. Marshall directly oversees the application and analyst division of the department, as well as two commercial examination groups, and the information systems examination group.

“I am honored to be appointed as the next bank commissioner for the Arkansas State Bank Department, and I want to thank Governor Hutchinson and Secretary Preston for this opportunity,” Ms. Marshall said. “I look forward to continuing to serve the banking industry in Arkansas. As commissioner, I will work to further strengthen the regulatory partnership with Arkansas banks and help our industry build on many years of growth and success. Arkansas is a national leader in banking and finance, and our institutions are committed to serving their customers and enhancing economic development in their communities.”

Ms. Marshall earned her undergraduate degree in accounting from Arkansas State University in Jonesboro in May 1994. She is a 2002 graduate of the Southwestern Graduate School of Banking in Dallas, and Arkansas Business selected her for its 40 Under 40 honor in 2011. Ms. Marshall obtained the designation of Commissioned Senior Examiner and is a certified examination manager.

Ms. Marshall has previously served on the Board of Directors for the Conference of State Bank Supervisors and currently serves on various committees within the organization, including vice-chairman of a multistate regional regulatory committee and a national committee of state and federal regulators.

Back to top button