HHS Class of 2019 given farewell

The Hope High School Class of 2019 is certified to the Hope School Board by HHS Principal Bill Hoglund at the conclusion of commencement exercises May 10 at Hempstead Hall on the University of Arkansas-Hope campus. UAHT Dean of Student Services Chris Smith delivered the traditional charge to the senior class. Photo by Jesse Evans

Story contributed by Ken McLemore, Communication Director, Hope Public Schools

HOPE – The Hope High School Class of 2019 was honored in commencement exercises May 10 before a standing-room-only throng of family and friends in Hempstead Hall on the University of Arkansas – Hope campus.

Honor graduates were announced by HHS Principal Bill Hoglund during the commencement ceremonies, including:

Magna Cum Laude – (3.75-3.99 GPA) Joanna Arechiga, Mayra Garcia, Allysa Fincher, Christopher Haywood, Christian Lowe, Hanna McCorkle, Natalie Phillips, Zahria Woods.

Cum Laude – (3.5-3.74 GPA) Jess Allen Jr., Antwone Casteel, Natzari Felipe, Gladajah Haynes, Zoie Hollis, Jared McKamie, Kelsey Reedy, Diamond Walton.

University of Arkansas-Hope Dean of Student Services Chris Smith delivered the traditional charge to the senior class.

Using a play on words to distinguish between missing opportunities and using them to their fullest, Smith urged the graduating seniors, “Don’t be duped; be dope.”

Recalling his own academic journey, Smith said he had to overcome that mentality.

“My grandfather told me, ‘Son, you wouldn’t know chicken salad from chicken….,” he said. “I couldn’t drive by a university; but, now I am on the verge of getting a doctorate from one of the best universities in the country.”

After graduation from Hope High School in 2006, Smith said he finally determined to pursue more education through the University of Arkansas Community College at Hope, graduating in 2008 and pursuing a bachelor’s degree at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, before completing a Master’s degree at Arkansas State University and gaining acceptance to the doctoral program at the University of Southern California.

“Don’t be duped into thinking that Mom and Dad are going to take care of you for the rest of your life,” Smith said. “Remember, it’s not about how you start, but about how you finish.”


Faculty honors announced May 9 at the HHS Senior Reception included:

American Legion Citizenship Award – Benjamin Knight, Jaidyn Simington.

Beryl Henry Award – Christopher Haywood.

Irma Dean Award – Natalie Phillips.

James H. Jones Award – Christian Lowe, Allysa Fincher, Kelsey Reedy.


Annual honors announced at the Senior Reception included:


Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Scholarship – Zahria Woods.


April Love Memorial Award – Jaidyn Simington.


Civitan Scholarship – Mayra Garcia.


Counselor’s Award – Joaquin Valadez.


Delta Kappa Gamma Scholarship – Benjamin Knight, Kelsey Reedy.


Delta Sigma Theta: Magnolia Alumnae Chapter Book Scholarship – Kanasia Alexander.


Earl Downs Memorial Scholarship – Makayla Williams.


French Stroughter Scholarship – Karina Hernandez.


Gwendolyn Roshelle Smith Scholarship – Kelsey Reedy.


Heidi Hoglund Memorial Scholarship – Jaidyn Simington.


Hempstead County Retired Teachers Association – Kelsey Reedy.


Hope Band Booster Scholarship – Mayra Garcia.


Hope Education Association Scholarship – Kelsey Reedy.


Hope Evening Lions Club – Mayra Yuliana Garcia.


Hope Lions Club Scholarship – Allysa Fincher.


Johnson Family Scholarship – Christopher Haywood.


Junior Auxiliary of Hope – Christian Lowe.


Karen Ivers Dyslexia Scholarship – Kelsey Reedy.


Kiwanis Club: Jim McKenzie Memorial Scholarship – Jaidyn Simington.


Life Share Life Scholarship – Allysa Fincher.


Lurlean Cannon Phillips Scholarship: Arkansas Community Foundation – Kelsey Reedy.


Steel Dynamics New Millennium Scholarship – Natalie Phillips.


The House That Jack Built Scholarship – Antwone Casteel.


Wadley Hospital Auxiliary at Hope Scholarship – Zahria Woods.


Yerger Rutherford Scholarship – Christian Lowe.


Henderson State University Scholarship – Joanna Arechiga, Red and Gray Tier 1.


Ouachita Baptist University Scholarship – Allysa Fincher, Founders Scholarship.


Southern Arkansas University Scholarship – Allysa Fincher (Blue and Gold), Benjamin Knight (University Scholarship), Natalie Phillips (Achievement Scholarship), Zahria Woods (Top 10 Percent Scholarship).


University of Arkansas Silas Hunt Scholarship – Christopher Haywood.


University of Arkansas Hope-Texarkana Scholarship – Zoie Hollis (UAHT Honors Scholarship).


University of Central Arkansas – Jesse Allen (University Scholarship), Joanna Archeciga (University Scholarship, Schedler Honors College Scholarship), Allysa Fincher (University Scholarship), Christian Lowe (University Scholarship), Jaidyn Simington (University Scholarship).


Arkansas Challenge Scholarship – Jesse Allen, Christopher Haywood, Elisa McFadden, Zahria Woods.


Arkansas Juvenile Officers Association Scholarship – Nikey’a Harris.


Career/Technical Completers – Jasmine Aguilar, Charles Anderson, Joanna Archiga, Ivan Bello, Kajuan Booker, Adriana Borboa, Monice Briggs, Laion Brisby, Antwone Casteel, Mashayla Cheatham, Juan Dominguez, Natzari Felipe, Courtnee Ferguson, Decorrien Flemming, Melissa Gallardo, Ja’maya Gamble, James Gunn, Shania Hamilton, Keyontai Harris, Gladajah Haynes, Emily Hernandez, Lisa Horton, Laymon Howell, Nitzy Juanes, Jose Lara, Zy’mesha Lee, Tristan Martin, Alan Martinez, Drake Mason, Eboni McClenton, Hanna McCorkle, Nyesha McMillion, Jonathan Mendoza, Albert Merchant, Taishima Moore, Jessica Moreno, Ricky Moreno, Cortiunna Muldrew, Lanija Muldrow, Nikorean Muldrow, Arisbel Pacheco, Valencia Perez, Kelsey Reedy, Jamya Rivera, Jaquelin Rodriguez, Derheajjia Ross, Quenten Salcido, Luis Torres, Pedro Vargas, Karen Villanueva, Sylvia Villarreal, Blessen Ward, Jazmine Watts, Jordyne Weston, William White, Makayla Williams, Amauri Willis, Zahria Woods, Emily Zimmer.


DAR Good Citizen Award – Kelsey Reedy.


Life Scholars Award – Craig Jones, Allysa Fincher, Jeffery Jarrell, Montaveious Mack, Jorge Rodriguez, Clarence Mayberry, Guadalupe Arroyo, Lydia Smith.


National Honor Society (senior stoles) – Jesse Allen, Joanna Arechiga, Antwone Casteel, Natzari Felipe, Allysa Fincher (president), Mayra Garcia, Chris Haywood, Zoie Hollis, Zymesha Lee (secretary), Christian Lowe (treasurer), Hanna McCorkle (vice president), Jared McKamie, Natalie Phillips, Kelsey Reedy, Jordyne Weston, Zahria Woods.

Back to top button