HHS Honor Society Inducts New Class

HOPE – Twenty-two academic achievers were inducted into the Hope High School chapter of the National Honor Society in ceremonies conducted at HHS Tuesday.

Presenting the inductees after the HHS Air Force Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps Color Guard posted the colors was NHS chapter president Britney Alvarado-Frayre.

Alvarado-Frayre said the 80-year old student organization represents the academic leaders in high schools across the country. She said membership in the National Honor Society is not only an academic honor, it is a privilege born of accomplishment.

The inductees included Lizabeth Arroyo, Zanautica Barker, Darton Davis, Maria Dominguez, Gracie Gilbert, Maggie Haynes, De’Travonta Horton, Brooke Hurt, Jaci Johnson, Bianca Juarez, Ki’Ara Key, Kristina King, Verenice Leyva, Leasly Luna, Annabeth Martin, Jazmin Martinez, Alaya Pearson, Ashanti Phillips, Noemi Salazar, Asia Stockdale, Ayden Sundberg, and Na’Tyja White.

The new NHS class was reminded of the four pillars of National Honor Society by current members who lit candles signifying those principles. Jacqueline Culley represented scholarship as one of the great elements of life; Genesis Curtis represented service as the willingness to work to the benefit of others without compensation; Skylar Hawthorne represented leadership as the willingness to sacrifice for the good of positive change; and Audrianna Collins represented character as the basis for genuine human development.

“I want to thank you parents and family members here today,” HHS Principal Bill Hoglund told the induction gathering. “Without your support these students would not be standing here as members of the National Honor Society.”

Hoglund said the NHS and its membership represents what its “keystone” emblem signifies as a fundamental positive influence on the HHS campus.

“I’m looking forward to when each of these students walks across the stage at Hempstead Hall and gets their diploma, many with substantial college credit already earned, and they are able to go from there to do what they have chosen to do in life,” Hoglund said.

The induction ceremonies concluded with current members Daisy Aguilar, Britney Alvarado-Frayre, Audrianna Collins, Jacqueline Culley, Genesis Curtis, Skylar Hawthorne, Miyaunna Purifoy, Shardae Reynolds, Kathy Rogel, Christopher Torres and faculty sponsor Jill Self reciting the NHS pledge with the new members.

Twenty-two junior and senior students at Hope High School were inducted into the HHS chapter of the National Honor Society in ceremonies at HHS Jan. 7. The new members were celebrated with a reception for members, faculty and families in the HHS library after they accepted membership in the recitation of the NHS Pledge. – Ken McLemore/Hope Public Schools

Back to top button