HHS takes second in coding contest

Contributed Content
The Hope High School Computer Science team won second place honors in recent competition at the Southwest Arkansas Educational Cooperative Hack-a-thon.
The HHS team competed in a field of 16 teams in the contest.
Team members Cavontae Young and Ladarius Watson were honored separately as the top-scoring two-member unit in the competition.
Both were awarded three Microbits, a fully programmable device that is five centimeters wide but contains a 5×5 LED matrix, two integrated push buttons, compass, Accelerometer, and Bluetooth with a micro USB connector, power port and reset button. Designed by BBC for Kitronik, the devices translate foundation code written on a computer and compiled on the device to run as a program that makes it wirelessly compatible to mobile phones and tablets. The devices also have applications in mini-robotics, electronic game control and applications for LED illumination.
Other HHS team members included Juan Gonzalez, Jerry Noble, Qyshaun Smith, Zoltin Dellosso, Madison Hair, Tristian Martin, Daniela Piza, Samantha Bailey, Jesse Allen, Timothy Rowe, Brando Salinas, Britney Rowe, and Skyler Hawthorne.

Back to top button