Hogs Add Jaxon Robinson to the Team

Nate Allen

FAYETTEVILLE – Choosing Texas A&M over Arkansas as a highly regarded basketball guar/ forward in 2019-2020 out of high school in Ada, Okla.. Jaxson Robinson announced on Twitter Tuesday he’s chosen Arkansas coming out of the transfer portal.

Arkansas Coach Eric Musselman confirmed Robinson’s signing through a UA press release.

“We are extremely excited about Jaxson joining our program,” Musselman said. “Jaxson was high on our recruiting list while he was in high school and many Power 5 schools went after Jaxson once he entered the transfer portal. He has tremendous upside and potential. He has deep range and is a knockdown shooter. We feel as though he will really fit in well with the other players on the roster.”

Oregon and Penn State were known also to seek Robinson upon him entering the NCAA transfer portal.
Robinson played 14 games totaling 30 points as an Aggies freshman during A&M’s frequently covid-19 interrupted 2020-2021 season.

Because of covid’s circumstances, all returning 2020-2021 players retain their 2020-2021 eligibility for 2020-2022 meaning Robinson reports to Arkansas as a freshman with four seasons of eligibility.

From their 2020-2021 25-7 Elite Eight team, the Razorbacks lost departing seniors Justin Smith, Jalen Tate and Vance Jackson while 3-year lettermen und erclassmen Desi Sills (to Auburn), Ethan Henderson (to Texas A&M) left through the transfer portal as did non-lettering reserve Abayomi Iyiola while junior college transfer signee Akol Mawein, signed by David Patrick, the former Arkansas now Oklahoma assistant, asked for and received a release from his national letter of intent.

Moses Moody, All-SEC as a freshman last season, leaves the Razorbacks declaring for this summer’s NBA draft.
In the meantime through the transfer portal Musselman’s Razorbacks have added forwards Au’Diese Toney (from the University of Pittsburgh) and Stanley Umude (University of South Dakota), point guard Chris Lykes (University Miami) and now Robinson via Texas A&M.

Last December forward Kamani Johnson transferred to the Razorbacks from the University of Arkansas-Little Rock and signed incoming freshman guard Chance Moore.

On the roster with their 2020-2021 eligibility set for 2021-2022 are freshman guards Davonte “Devo” Davis, and Khalen “KK” Robinson and forward Jaylin Williams, sophomore center Connor Vanover and junior guard JD Notae.

Back to top button