Hogs Announce Captains

FAYETTEVILLE – Following Saturday’s closed mock game dress rehearsing for next Saturday’s season-opener against Rice, Arkansas Coach Sam Pittman announced five Razorbacks as captains for the 2021 season.

The five include two underclassmen, third-year sophomore starting quarterback KJ Jefferson and third-year sophomore Preseason All-SEC safety Jalen Catalon, and three seniors, left offensive tackle Myron Cunningham, All-American linebacker Grant Morgan and safety Joe Foucha.

Morgan and Cunningham are sixth-year “super seniors” who were seniors in 2020 and granted 2021 eligibility because of the covid pandemic’s impact disrupting the 2020 season throughout college football.

Cunningham, Morgan, Catalon and Foucha all were regular 2020 starters.

Jefferson replaces turned pro 2020 senior Feleipe Franks as the starting quarterback and started and played the entire 50-48 loss to Missouri which Franks missed injured.

The Razorbacks used Sunday as their mandated one day per week off and launch game-week practices Monday afternoon for next Saturday’s 1 p.m. kickoff against the Rice Owls at Reynolds Razorback Stadium.

Back to top button