Hogs Media Days Honors

Nate Allen

FAYETTEVILLE – With one shocking best in the SEC West first-place vote given the presence of reigning 13-0 national champion Alabama but plus the 2020 nationally No. 5 Texas A&M Aggies, the Arkansas Razorbacks closed SEC Football Media Days picked sixth in the 7-team SEC West and with five Razorbacks on the various first through third All-SEC teams  announced Friday and voted upon concluding the Monday through Thursdayteam sessions in Hoover, Ala.

Individually, junior receiver Treylon Burks was the lone Razorback awarded Preseason All-SEC first team.

Arkansas’ 241 voting points ranked ahead of  seventh-place Mississippi State’s 217.

Alabama, receiving 130 of the 134 first-place votes with Texas A&M, LSU, Ole Miss and Arkansas getting one each, was picked to win the SEC West and SEC Overall championships with Georgia picked to win the SEC East.

In the SEC West from second through sixth came Texas A&M, 760, LSU, 633, Ole Missa, 529, and Auburn, 440.

After Georgia, 923 points and 124 first-place votes, defending SEC East champion Florida, 784 points and seven first-place votes, and Kentucky, 624 points and two first-place votes, were picked second and third in the SEC East.

Fourth through seventh came Missouri, 555 points, Tennessee, 362, South Carolina, 355 with one surprising first-place vote, and Vanderbilt, 149.

Razorbacks voted to the Preseason All-SEC second are center Ricky Stromberg, linebacker Grant Morgan, safety Jalen Catalon.

Razorbacks senior left offensive tackle Myron Cunningham was voted Preseason All-SEC third team.

On Friday Stromberg learned he’s on the watch list for the Rimington Award that in December honors the nation’s best center while junior tight end Hudson Henry learned he’s on the watch list for the Mackey Award that in December honors the nation’s best tight end.

Hunter Henry, Hudson’s older brother and star NFL tight end with the New England Patriots, won the Mackey Award as a Razorback in 2015.

Back to top button