Hope Boy Scouts in 1965

Boy Scouts from Hope and the surrounding area went to the University of Indiana for the 50th Annual National Order of the Arrow Conference. Area youth in the picture are (l to r) : David Byrd, Nashville; Monroe Pardue, Hope; Bill Sinclair, Hughes Springs, Texas; Dr. Bill Coffee of Hope who also served as Lodge Chief for Caddo Area Council; Keenan Williams of Hope and Larry White of Hope.

Dr. Coffee is one of only two Scouts from Hope and Hempstead County to ever be elected as Lodge Chief for the Northeast Texas and Southwest Arkansas area.

Left to right: Monroe Pardue, Dr. Bill Coffee in his headdress, Johnny Schooley and Garland Bright. All of Hope. 

Dr. Coffee and Johnny Schooley are wearing headdresses which is only allowed for officers in the Order of the Arrow.

It is interesting to learn more about the Scouting history and traditions we have right here in our community. 

Back to top button