HPS Board service honored; board set for YMS toast on Jan. 29

Contributed content
Hope Public Schools Board Zone 1 Representative Viney Johnson was recognized during the Jan. 21 meeting of the board as the longest serving member of the board. First elected to the board in September 1989, Johnson has served continuously since then, and was honored by the Arkansas School Boards Association for her 30 years of service to public education in Arkansas. Johnson also serves as the financial designee to the board.

The service of members of the Hope Public Schools Board will also be recognized with a School Board Appreciation Day celebration on January 29 on the Yerger Middle School campus.
The event will be held in the library at YMS at 9 a.m. and is open to the public. Student poetry honoring the board will be presented during the event. The current board includes:
Zone 1 – Viney Johnson, district financial designee to the board, who has served since 1989.
Zone 3 – Willie Buck, board president, who has served since 2010.
Zone 4 – Jimmy Courtney, who has served since 2016.
Zone 5 – Linda Haynes, board secretary, who has served since 2015.
Zone 6 – Kathryn Dickinson, who has served since 2017.
Zone 7 – Jesus Coronado, board vice president, who has served since 2009.
Zone 8 – David “Bubba” Powers, who has served since 2017.

Back to top button