Laurie Huneycutt Named Ouachita’s Support Staff Member of the Year

ARKADELPHIA, Ark.—Ouachita Baptist University recently named Laurie Huneycutt, administrative assistant to the dean in the School of Fine Arts, as the 2019-2020 Support Staff Member of the Year. Huneycutt has served the School of Fine Arts for 25 years.

“I can’t think of any staff member at Ouachita that is more dedicated, committed, loyal, caring and passionate about Ouachita as Laurie Huneycutt,” said Dr. Gary Gerber, dean of the School of Fine Arts. “Ms. Huneycutt is loved and respected by the faculty and students.

“She is the essential Ouachitonian, and she brings that love for Ouachita to work every day serving the School of Fine Arts with that same love and devotion,” Gerber continued. “We are very fortunate to have a person like Laurie at Ouachita. She needs to be recognized for her decades of service and loyalty to this institution and community.”

In her more than two decades of service, Huneycutt has served the faculty in each of the school’s divisions and departments and assisted and encouraged hundreds of fine arts students. 

“I have had the honor of working for four different deans who have led the School of Fine Arts to be what it is today, with each one having new ideas and visions, which have allowed both the faculty and the students to grow,” Huneycutt said. 

With her responsibilities encompassing the school’s Division of Music, the Department of Theatre Arts and the Department of Visual Arts, Huneycutt said “it is amazing to see what talent our students have and how that talent grows along with their confidence in using that talent.”

Huneycutt attended Ouachita in the 1980s and earned bachelor’s degree in history. Outside of work, Huneycutt enjoys listening to Southern Gospel music, crocheting and playing cards, as well as spending time with her family; her dog, Maggie; and traveling.

Each year, Ouachita’s Staff Development Committee requests nominations from university faculty and staff for the Support Staff Member of the Year, an award that recognizes individuals for their contribution to Ouachita’s campus community. 

“The committee selects the winner based not only on the nominee’s excellence in their job duties but their demonstrated commitment to support Ouachita’s mission and their positive impact on our students, faculty and staff,” said Jason Tolbert, Ouachita’s chief financial officer and chair of the committee.

For more information, contact Jason Tolbert at [email protected] or (870) 245-5410.

Back to top button