School News

Ouachita’s Division of Music presents the Wind Ensemble in concert March 7

For immediate release 

By Angela Webb 

February 24, 2022 

For more information, contact OBU’s news bureau at [email protected] or (870) 245-5206. 

 ARKADELPHIA, Ark.—Ouachita Baptist University’s Division of Music presents the Wind Ensemble in concert Monday, March 7, at 7:30 p.m. in Jones Performing Arts Center, 409 Ouachita Street. The concert is free and open to the public. 

“We have prepared a varied program of great music for the audience to enjoy,” said Dr. Craig Hamilton, the Lena Goodwin Trimble Professor of Music and director of bands at Ouachita. Hamilton will conduct the Wind Ensemble. “Our featured soloist is Craig Crawford playing Fantasia for Alto Saxophone by Claude T. SmithCraig is the winner of the 2021 W. Francis and Mary McBeth Concerto Competition.” 

Crawford is a senior music performance/instrumental major from Texarkana, Texas. In addition to his featured solo, the program will include “Prologue,” “Song,” “Dance,” “Burlesque,” “Soliloquy” and “March” from Divertimento for Band, Op. 42. byVincent Persichetti; “Riften Wed”by Julie Giroux; “Shadow Rituals” by Michael Markowsky; and “Oratio,” “Cantus” and “Dies Festus” from Gloriosa by Yasuhide Ito. 

The Wind Ensemble concert will be livestreamed on For more information about the Ouachita bands, contact Dr. Craig Hamilton at [email protected] or at (870)245-5137. 


BASS CLARINET: Jaelen Becho, Sam Youmans 

BASSOON: Cross Brandon 

CLARINET: Reganne Dumas, Lane Dunman, Hanah Green, Ashton Tumlison 


EUPHONIUM: Gabe Mills, Ashlyn Seibert 

FLUTE: Katie Carroll, Destiny Diaz, Brailee Price, Skylar Schaffer, Victoria Sprague 

HORN: Kaitlyn Campbell, Jacob Emmons, Isabella Owen, Mac Ricks 

OBOE: Emma Rouse, Brock Wade 

PERCUSSION: Jenna Barnes, Braden Crawley, Carly Hall, Lloyd Hassell, Katie McManus, Jonathan Sandy, Chloe Spraggins 

SAXOPHONE: Craig Crawford, Caden McClain, Joseph Osborne, Lexi Peck, Graham Scarborough, Josh Sutton, Elizabeth Worden 

TROMBONE: Tyler Hancock 

TRUMPET: Camryn Manning, Deacon Miller, Jared Wainright, Josh York 

TUBA: Alex Browning, Chris Rudy 

Back to top button