Ouachita’s Division of Music to Present Jazz Band Concert Nov. 12

ARKADELPHIA, Ark.—Ouachita Baptist University’s Division of Music will present its fall Jazz Band Concert on Tuesday, Nov. 12, at 7:30 p.m. in Jones Performing Arts Center. The concert is free and open to the public.  

“The audience will enjoy a mixture of jazz styles, including swing, funk, bebop and more,” said Dr. Craig Hamilton, Lena Goodwin Trimble Professor of Music and director of the Jazz Band. “We’ve enjoyed putting this concert together. I know the audience will enjoy an evening of great jazz.”

The evening’s program will begin with “Thank You Band” by Paul Clark, “From A to Z” by Kris Berg, “Front Row Seats” by Paul Baker and “What a Wonderful World” by George David Weiss and Bob Thiele and arranged by Jerry Nowak. The band will continue with “Flight to Nassau” by Sammy Nestico, “Slim Chickens” by Kris Berg, “Night and Day” by Cole Porter and “Move ‘N’ Groove” by Richard Linton and arranged by Dave Wolpe. Next, the Jazz Band will perform “On the Sunny Side of the Street” by Dorothy Fields and Jimmy McHugh and arranged by John Berry, “Bad Dog” by Mike Dana and “Cry Me a River” by Arthur Hamilton and arranged by Jerry Nowak. The concert will conclude with “Late in the Quarter” by Mike Dana and “Soul Proprietor” by Ellen Rowe.

Members of the band include:

On saxophone – Craig Crawford (alto), a sophomore instrumental performance and communications & media/multimedia journalism double major from Texarkana, Texas; Kailee Morehart (alto), a senior music major from Alexander, Ark.; Katelyn Still (alto), a sophomore music education major from Benton, Ark.; Cross Brandon (tenor), a sophomore instrumental music education major from Little Rock, Ark.; Graham Scarborough (tenor), a freshman instrumental music education major from West Monroe, La.; Caleb Edmunds (baritone), a freshman music industry major from Weatherford, Texas; and Austin Clements (baritone), a senior social justice studies and history double major from North Little Rock, Ark.

On trombone – Cayli Campbell, a senior instrumental performance major from Texarkana, Ark.; Michael Burer, a junior instrumental music education major from Forney, Texas; and Allan Schroeder (bass), a junior worship arts major from Carrollton, Texas.

On trumpet – Justin Trostle, a senior music industry major from El Dorado, Ark.; Dalton Heinsohn, a senior music major from Hallsville, Texas; Jared Wainright, a sophomore social justice studies major from El Dorado, Ark.; and Josh York, a freshman psychology major from Texarkana, Texas.

On rhythm – Josh Conard (piano), a sophomore music major from Denton, Texas; Jacob Brown (bass), a junior music major from Carrollton, Texas; Josh York (bass), a freshman psychology major from Texarkana, Texas; and Richie Blosch (drums), a senior music major from Fort Worth, Texas.

Vocals – Paige Price, a junior musical theatre major from Plano, Texas.

The concert will be live-streamed at For more information, contact Dr. Craig Hamilton at [email protected] or (870) 245-5137.

Back to top button