Razorbacks Open SEC Tournament Against Aggies

Oliver Grigg

HOOVER, Ala. – Newly crowned SEC champion Arkansas (39-15, 20-10 SEC) opens play in the SEC Tournament against Texas A&M (33-23, 14-16 SEC) on Wednesday, May 24, at Hoover Metropolitan Stadium.

First pitch between the Razorbacks and the Aggies will be thrown 30 minutes after the conclusion of the game between LSU and South Carolina, which is scheduled to begin at 9:30 a.m. The game will be broadcast on SEC Network.

The winner of the Arkansas-Texas A&M game will play the winner of the LSU-South Carolina game in a non-elimination game at 4:30 p.m. Thursday, May 25. The losers, meanwhile, will play at 9:30 a.m. Thursday in a win-or-go-home game.


Wednesday, May 24

Texas A&M vs. #4 Arkansas – TBD – SEC Network – Listen – Live Stats

On the Mound

Wednesday, May 24
Texas A&M – RHP Nathan Dettmer (1-3, 6.28 ERA)
Arkansas – RHP Cody Adcock (4-2, 5.36 ERA)

Tune In

Dave Neal (play-by-play) and Ben McDonald (analyst) have the call of Wednesday’s game between the Hogs and Aggies. The contest can also be heard on the Razorback Sports Network from Learfield, including locally in Fayetteville on 92.1 FM or through the Razorback app, with Phil Elson (play-by-play) and Bubba Carpenter (analyst) on the call.

A full list of radio affiliates is available here.

History Lesson
Arkansas is 49-46 all-time against Texas A&M, including a 1-0 record against the Aggies in the SEC Tournament. Under head coach Dave Van Horn, the Hogs are 21-14 overall, including a win in Hoover, against Texas A&M.

The only previous meeting between the Razorbacks and Aggies in the SEC Tournament came in 2014. Arkansas picked up a 4-0 win in the opening round behind a combined shutout by Trey Killian (6.0 IP, 4 SO) and Zach Jackson (3.0 IP, 4 SO).

In the Polls

Baseball America – 3

Collegiate Baseball – 4

D1Baseball – 4

Perfect Game – 4

USA Today Coaches – 4


SEC Champs
Under the guidance of 2023 SEC Coach of Year Dave Van Horn, the Razorbacks won their fourth SEC championship (1999, 2004, 2021 & 2023) in school history and second in the last three seasons. Arkansas also won its eighth SEC Western Division crown (1999, 2004, 2007, 2011, 2018, 2019, 2021 & 2023) in program history and fourth since 2018.

Arkansas, who won 20 SEC games in the regular season for only the fourth time in program history, posted their sixth consecutive season with 18 or more SEC wins. LSU is the only other team in SEC history to record at least six consecutive seasons of 18 or more SEC victories, doing so in 10 straight seasons from 1996-2005.

Hogs in Hoover
The Razorbacks, who won the SEC Tournament for the first time in program history in 2021, are 26-29 in Hoover under head coach Dave Van Horn.

Arkansas has reached the semifinals in three of the last five tournaments (2017, 2018 & 2021) and played for the title twice in that span (2017 & 2021).

Machine of Consistency
Since the start of the 2017 season, Arkansas has won more games than any other program in the country. Excluding the pandemic-shortened 2020 season, the Hogs are the only team with 45 or more wins every year since 2017.

Arkansas – 285

Oregon State – 276

Florida – 273

Southern Miss – 270

Vanderbilt – 268

Back to top button