Razorbacks productive in Arkansas Twilight despite weather



Online Version: https://bit.ly/3uvBmdK

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Four victories were claimed by the Razorbacks, who also posted the top collegian finish in three additional events, during the Arkansas Twilight as they overcame inclement weather, which included rain, hail, and lightning at John McDonnell Field.

Razorback volunteer assistant Ryan Crouser registered a shot put mark of 74-5 ½ (22.69) to break the facility and meet record as his series included three marks over 73 feet. The previous facility record of 68-7 ¼ (20.91) was set in 2009 by Arizona State’s Ryan Whitting while the meet record of 64-7 ¼ (19.69) was set in 2012 by Kevin Bookout.

The Razorbacks produced a 1-2-3 finish in the 400m as James Milholen led the trio with a winning time of 46.54. Jeremy Farr followed in 47.28 while Nick Hilson posted an outdoor best of 47.30. In fourth place at 47.54 was Arkansas alum Hunter Woodhall.

Amon Kemboi won the 800m in 1:49.54 with Ethan Carney (1:51.26), Jadon Bartholomew (1:52.21), and Reese Walters (1:53.71) placing 3-5-8 behind him.

Etamar Bhastekar won a jump-off to claim the pole vault title with a clearance of 17-2 ¾ (5.25).

Three vaulters all cleared 17-0 ¾ (5.20), and then missed three attempts at 17-4 ½ (5.30). A jump-off had all three missing one more attempt at 17-4 ½, then the bar was lowered to 17-2 ¾ where Bhastekar was the lone vaulter to clear it.

A trio of Razorbacks also placed 4-5-6 in the pole vault with Rhett Nelson (16-6 ¾ | 5.05), Braedon Maddox (16-6 ¾) and Markus Ballengee (16-0 ¾ | 4.90).

A pair of Razorback 4×100 relays finished 1-2 with times of 39.69 and 40.33 while Central Arkansas placed third in 40.81. The winning Arkansas crew consisted of Roman Turner, Kristoffer Hari, Cade Clark, and Jalen Brown. The runner-up squad included Josh Oglesby, Phillip Lemonious, Tre’Bien Gilbert, and Ryan Gordon.

Turner led the prelims of the 100m with a wind-aided 10.30 (2.5 wind) with Hari posting a 10.37 (3.4 wind) to claim another heat with the second best time. Neither ran in the final after the weather delay.

In the prelims of the 110m hurdles, Carl Elliott, III, led the field with a 13.73 while Lemonious claimed another heat in 13.76. Both skipped the final following the delay.

As the top collegian in the long jump, John Baker finished third with a 25-2 ¾ (7.69) effort. Will Williams won the event at 25-4 ½ (7.73) while Arkansas redshirt Ryan Brown was runner-up with a 25-2 ¾ mark and had a better secondary mark than Baker in his series.

Rhayko Schwartz ran 21.21w as the top collegian in the 200m and placed third overall.

Erich Sullins won the hammer with a meet record toss of 230-10 (70.36) while Razorback Ruben Banks was the top collegian with an effort of 213-5 (65.04) which placed third overall. Sullins bettered the meet record of 225-11 (68.86) that was set by Oklahoma State’s Nick Miller in 2014.

Back to top button