Hope Public Schools

Rotarians honor entire HPS faculty as ‘Teachers of the Year’

Ken McLemore

HOPE – The Hope Rotary Club typically honors one teaching faculty member from elementary and secondary education in the Hope Public Schools as its Teachers of the Year. This year, however, the Rotarians stepped totally outside the box and named the entire teaching and support faculty of the district as Rotary Teachers of the Year 2021.

HPS Superintendent Dr. Bobby Hart thanked the Rotarians for the recognition on behalf of the district’s faculties during presentation ceremonies at each of the district’s campuses Friday.

“We are so proud of all our teachers and we are grateful to the Rotary Club for their dedication to the Hope Public Schools,” Dr. Hart said.

He said the Rotarians typically ask for nominations to honor one elementary school teacher and one secondary school teacher.

“There was no way we could single out only one or two recipients for this award,” Hart said. “All of our teachers have worked together to make this year a success in spite of the circumstances.”

Rotarian selection committee chair John Watkins said the idea made perfect sense in a year dominated by COVID-19 challenges.

“Doctor Hart brought us the idea and everyone agreed one hundred percent,” Watkins said during the presentations Friday. “Teachers have been challenged above and beyond through this year, and you have responded wonderfully.”

Committee co-chair Les Patterson, who works with third grade classes each year as The Water Wizard to explain the ecology of clean water, called the response to the COVID-19 year by teachers a remarkable achievement.

“I am so thankful that we have you all to teach our children,” Patterson said.

Each faculty/support staff member was presented with a yard sign designating their residence as that of a 2021 Rotary Teacher of the Year. The club also provided each with a certificate for a free meal at Tailgater’s Café in Hope.

Back to top button