Three Razorback wins highlight final day of Hayward Premiere



Online Version: bit.ly/31XEaDX

EUGENE, Ore. – Three Arkansas victories and three runner-up efforts highlighted the second day of the Hayward Premiere as the University of Oregon opened its reimagined Hayward Field this weekend.

One of the three wins for the Hogs on Saturday also included a historical note as James Milholen claimed the 400m from lane 9, becoming the first person to win a race at Hayward Field from that lane now that the new configuration of the track includes nine lanes.

Milholen clocked a career best of 46.75 to better the field and improve upon his previous best of 47.07. Finishing runner-up in 47.37 was Oregon’s Jacoby McNamara.

Registering the first victory for the Razorbacks on the second day of the Hayward Premiere was the 4×100 relay foursome of Roman Turner, Jeremy Farr, Tre’Bien Gilbert and Jalen Brown, who cruised to a winning time of 40.51 seconds while the only other challenger in the event, Washington State, did not finish.

Turner added a second victory celebration, which includes taking a lap of honor at Hayward Field, in winning the 100m in 10.49 (1.5 wind) over a 10.74 for Oregon’s Maxwell Shannon and a 10.75 by BYU’s Dallin Draper as well as Ja’Maun Charles of Washington State. Turner also placed third in the 200m with a windy 21.60 (2.8).

John Baker finished second in the first heat of the 100m with a 10.79 behind a 10.77 for Landon Maxfield of BYU. After winning the long jump on Friday, Baker placed second in the triple jump on Saturday to complete a busy weekend.

A tight finish in the 110m hurdles had a pair of Razorbacks both running 14.08w to place second and third behind a 13.88w (3.4 wind) for Washington State’s Sam Brixey. Tre’Bien Gilbert was awarded runner-up with a 14.077 while Carl Elliott, III finished third at 14.078. Another Arkansas hurdler, Shaka Bogan, made his collegiate debut in the 110m hurdles, placing sixth in 14.65w.

Another runner-up performance had the Razorbacks running 3:13.01 in the 4×400 relay behind a 3:11.38 for BYU while Iowa State finished third in 3:13.16. The Arkansas quartet included Ethan Carney (49.7), Rhayko Schwartz (47.2), Jadon Bartholomew (48.77) and Milholen (47.11).

Nick Hilson ran his first race in the 400m hurdles since 2019 and posted a time of 51.43 as runner-up to a 50.96 by BYU’s Colten Yardley.

Racing in an elite level Invitational 800m, Kieran Taylor placed fifth in 1:49.15. Oregon’s Cole Hocker won the event in 1:46.60 over a 1:47.15 for Iowa State’s Festus Lagat and 1:47.55 for Oregon’s Luis Peralta.

Three other heats of the 800 featured Razorbacks as Andrew Kibet ran 1:52.60 while Bartholomew and Carney each set career best times of 1:53.17 and 1:54.00, respectively.

Friday Recap

A solid night of distance racing produced impressive marks for the Razorback on the first day of the Hayward Premiere hosted by the University of Oregon.

A stellar effort in the Invitational 5,000m produced a career best of 13:34.70 for Razorback Luke Meade, who had a previous best of 14:13.72, as he finished fifth. Now No. 10 on the UA all-time list, Meade moved ahead of Daniel Lincoln.

Six Razorbacks raced in the 10,000m as Matt Young led the pack with a seventh-place effort that resulted in a career best of 28:41.94. Emmanuel Cheboson followed in eighth place at 28:43.91 while Gilbert Boit placed 10th in 28:46.31.

The next three Arkansas runners included Myles Richter (29:04.84, 16th), Ryan Murphy (29:07.23, 18th), and Jacob McLeod (29:16.38, 23rd).

In the Invitational 1,500m, Amon Kemboi placed seventh with a time of 3:41.60.

Razorback freshman Ruben Banks, who broke the school record indoors in the weight throw, produced a mark of 211-2 (64.37) in his collegiate debut in the hammer to place second among a field of 11 throwers.

Wichita State’s Michael Bryan won the event with a toss of 224-10 (68.54). Banks became just the second Razorback to surpass 200 feet. Oregon’s Austin Tharp finished third with a mark of 195-0 (59.44).

Banks, who had a previous hammer best of 207-9 (63.33), opened with a 191-0 (58.22) and hit his best mark in round two. After a foul in round three, Banks came within an inch previous throw with a 211-1 (64.35). A mark of 194-10 (59.39) followed and he completed his series with a 203-5 (62.00).

Banks moved to No. 2 on the UA all-time list, and only trails the school record of 222-7 (67.84) set by Erich Sullins in 2019.

John Baker won the long jump with a leap of 23-6 ¼ (7.17) while Rhett Nelson placed second in the pole vault with a clearance of 16-0 ¾ (4.90). Braedon Maddox set a career best with his clearance of 15-7 (4.75) to finish fourth in the pole vault.

Back to top button