AnnouncementsCommunityHistoryPress Release

Tombstone upkeep course to be given at Old Washington’s Pioneer Cemetery October 1

WASHINGTON, Ark. – Local cemeteries are an important part of shared history. Learn how to properly care for and clean tombstones with a curator at Historic Washington State Park’s Pioneer Cemetery on Saturday, Oct. 1, 2022, from 9 a.m. to noon.

The workshop will cover the basics of tombstone care and demonstrate cleaning techniques on stones in the Pioneer Cemetery. The workshop fee is $15 per person. Contact the visitor center at 870-983-2684 to register.

For additional information about the workshop, contact Josh Williams at [email protected] or call 870-983-2684.

For more information about Historic Washington State Park visit

Historic Washington State Park

Historic Washington State Park, located in Washington, Arkansas, is open daily from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. except for Mondays. The park is a restoration village interpreting the historic Arkansas town in the 19th century. Daily tours are provided to over 15 historic sites and museums, such as the B.W. Edwards Weapons Museum and Blacksmith Shop. To learn more, visit or call 870-983-2684. 

Arkansas State Parks

Arkansas State Parks is a division of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism. Arkansas state parks and museums cover 54,400 acres of forest, wetlands, fish and wildlife habitat, outdoor recreation facilities, and unique historic and cultural resources. Established in 1923, Arkansas State Parks preserve special places for future generations, provide quality recreation and education opportunities, enhance the state’s economy through tourism and provide leadership in resource conservation. Connect with ASP on FacebookInstagramTwitter, and visit and to learn more. 

Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism

The Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism protects and promotes our state’s natural, cultural and historic assets, contributing to a thriving economy and high quality of life. It is made up of three divisions: Arkansas State Parks, Arkansas Heritage and Arkansas Tourism. Stacy Hurst serves as the cabinet secretary for the department. 

Back to top button