Westerman, Brownley Introduce National Dyslexia Awareness Month Resolution

WASHINGTON – Today, Congressional Dyslexia Caucus Co- Chairs Bruce Westerman (R-AR) and Julia Brownley (D-CA), along with 16 original cosponsors, introduced a bipartisan resolution to designate October 2021 as National Dyslexia Awareness Month. Westerman and Brownley released the following statements:

“As co-chair of the Congressional Dyslexia Caucus and spouse of a special education teacher, I understand how important dyslexia awareness and advocacy is to the students and families suffering from our nation’s most common learning disability,” said Congressman Westerman. By raising awareness of dyslexia’s challenges, I hope to help students, teachers, and parents take full advantage of the resources available to them.”

“I started my career in public service to help ensure that people with dyslexia, like my daughter, have the resources and support they need to succeed,” said Congresswoman Julia Brownley. “By recognizing October as Dyslexia Awareness Month, we are raising awareness and focusing more attention on how to best identify and address dyslexia, so that individuals with dyslexia have the tools they need to live up to their fullest potential. I am proud to continue working with Congressman Westerman and my colleagues of the Congressional Dyslexia Caucus to ensure dyslexia receives the attention it deserves.”


While many parents and educators have recognized October as National Dyslexia Awareness Month for years, it is important for Congress to formally designate the month each year. This resolution represents the dedication of members of both parties in Congress to recognize and address the significant educational implications of dyslexia that affect one in five people in America.

See the full text of the letter here.

Full list of cosponsors:

Bruce Westerman (R-AR)

Julia Brownley (D-CA)

Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL)

H. Morgan Griffith (R-VA)

Ann McLane Kuster (D-NH)

Larry Bucshon (R-IN)

Chrissy Houlahan (D-PA)

Steven M. Palazzo (R-MS)

Seth Moulton (D-MA)

Eric Swalwell (D-CA)

Earl L. “Buddy” Carter (R-GA)

Derek Kilmer (D-WA)

Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA)

John Yarmuth (D-KY)

French Hill (R-AR)

David McKinley (R-WV)

Suzan DelBene (D-WA)

Garret Graves (R-LA)

Back to top button